❗ Important Note: On July 18, 2022, we renamed our User Roles for better clarity and to provide more control for those managing Tithely. Prior to this change, the Account Owner was called the "Primary Admin." Learn More.

We'll walk you through the steps to change the Account Owner in your Tithe.ly account below. 😃 Please note, only the current Account Owner can perform this change.


Requirements to Change the Account Owner

  1. The current Account Owner is the only individual who can perform this change.

  2. The individual who will be the new Account Owner has been added as a user to the organization's Tithe.ly account. You can learn how to do this in the article Adding and Updating Administrators and Permissions in Giving 2.0.

    Not sure who the Account Owner is or don't have access to the Account Owner?

    Please reach out to support@tithe.ly and our team will work with you to update your account.


How to Change the Account Owner

  1. As an Account Owner, log in to your Tithe.ly Admin account.

  2. Navigate to the Global Settings icon at the bottom left corner (if you do not see the icon, navigate to a 2.0 space such as People and it will appear).

    Global Settings
  3. Select My Organization > Users.

  4. From the list of Users, select the gear on the right side of the person that should become the new Account Owner.

  5. Select the option to “Switch to Account Owner”.

    You will then see a pop-up explaining the account change and can click "Continue" to move forward.

  6. Next, you will add credit card details for the new Account Owner. This credit card will be used for subscriptions and billing for the organization.
    Please Note: This is necessary even if the new account has no active, paid subscriptions.

    You can also update the Legal Representative if needed or skip this step if it’s not necessary. For multi-location churches, it will only update the Legal Representative for the oldest location that you created in Tithely.

  7. Confirm the Account Owner changes.

    The new Account Owner will receive an email confirming the change and the old Account Owner will also receive an email stating they are no longer the Account Owner.

Did this answer your question?